my invented life

  New Mexico YA author Lauren Bjorkman has started a blog series on librarian superheroes, defenders of defenseless books. I’m not saying I’m a superhero compared to people like Alia Muhammad Baker (1), but when someone bestows the title on you, you don’t shy away. You step up to the reference desk and find those copies of The Day My Butt Went Psycho for your patrons.  And I did have to defend my love for the Babymouse series when one of my coworkers suggested that perhaps I was a little too excited to see Babymouse Burns Rubber on the new books shelf one day. You can read the interview here.

1. Here’s an interview with Alia Muhammad Baker, who saved thousands of books at her library during the Iraq War. And here’s an interview with Jeanette Winter, author of The Librarian of Basra.

